Sam Masry Award

CHA Sam Masry Award

Salem (Sam) Masry (1938-2020) immigrated to Canada from Egypt in 1966 after completion of his PhD at University College, London. He began his career at the University of New Brunswick where he became a professor and a founding member of the department of Surveying Engineering. Dr. Masry was a pioneer in the field of digital mapping and, in 1979, founded CARIS to develop digital mapping software, growing to be one of the leading companies in its field internationally. Sam received many awards in recognition of his work and his contributions to his community, including the Talbert Adams Grand Award by the American Society of Photogrammetry, appointments to the Order of Canada and the Order of New Brunswick, and an honorary Doctor of Science from UNB. Sam was an ethical and dedicated leader and entrepreneur with international influence, and a major champion for the importance of well-managed hydrographic and other digital data for the benefit of all.

In honour of Mr. Masry, the Canadian Hydrographic Association established the Sam Masry Award to recognize an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the hydrographic profession and/or its related disciplines. The award will be given out at each Canadian Hydrographic Conference. The first Sam Masry award was given out at CHC2020 to Mr. Masry (posthumously).

Call for applications for the CHA Sam Masry award

The CHA is looking for nominations of potential recipients for the award. The nominees will have shown a deep dedication for the advancement of the discipline throughout their career, nationally or internationally, as an entrepreneur or through other professional achievements. They will have maintained the highest ethical standards and a desire to seek and openly share advances in the field. Submissions can be send to